LIVE VIDEO: WTLV Live Video_1    Watch

American, Frenchman win Nobel Prize in physics

7:22 AM, Oct 9, 2012   |    comments
Serge Haroche of France and David Wineland of the US won the Nobel Physics Prize for their work on measuring and manipulating individual particles while preserving their quantum-mechanical nature.(JONATHAN NACKSTRAND/AFP/GettyImages)
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

STOCKHOLM (AP) - Frenchman Serge Haroche and American David Wineland have won the 2012 Nobel Prize in physics.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences cited the two scientists Tuesday "for ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems."

This year's Nobel Prize announcements got under way Monday with the medicine prize going to stem cell pioneers John Gurdon of Britain and Japan's Shinya Yamanaka. Each award is worth 8 million kronor, or about $1.2 million.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Associated Press

Most Watched Videos